Skip to content

Parents doing Parent things

A Parent Power Revolution Has Begun

Note: My FlipCam & digital camera are both at shop. I haven’t left you guys!  Don’t mind my low pixel phone camera shots.

In this picture: Prince “typing” away on his laptop computer.

My family loves my prince. They adore him.  I am grateful to have their support.

Recently, they bought my 2.5 year old prince a Vtech electronic reader & game handheld with a popular preschool game.

We returned it. Turns out, my prince found a cardboard, bent it, doodled on it (I later drew a keyboard), and set it up like it was a laptop computer.

Don’t believe the hype. There is NO proof that electronics and screentime help preschoolers learn anything. There is however evidence that suggest its significant long term negative effects.   Kids learn through play, pretend, sensory experiences, and using language.  Stick to the basics.  And, when in doubt…give the child some cardboard.  He or she will know what to do.

Parent Power. We can do this!

By the way, visit and spread the word: www.notbefore2.wordpress.com.  We MUST get this message out to the masses in 2011!

