Skip to content

Parents doing Parent things

A Parent Power Revolution Has Begun

Developing fine motor skills is important for early literacy.  This is a well known fact.  One of my takes on that statement is that writing is actually serious business. There’s holding the pencil properly, practicing letters, writing short sentences…it all seems simple for us since we’ve been doing this for years but those little finger muscles must get tired if they have never been worked don’t you think?  That’s why I try to incorporate fine motor skills (aka finger’s gym) in my house at least 2-3xs a week.

I recently read about threading beads as an activity that builds fine motor skills.  Of course at the end of the article, there was a “beads” set for sale.  I skipped right over the sales pitch.  Here is the prince threading our first pasta jewelry (or watches as I later found out from the prince himself).  In very near future, I will try the same activity with two different size pastas and also create “patterns” for him to follow.  Yup, that’s two skills, one activity, one low price—and one very happy mom!

How much does a generic box of pasta costs? About .85! Pipe cleaners? Specially if you recycle them? Get the picture? It’s called Parent Power! And you have more of it than you know. Enjoy the videos.

